Independently covering the OVC since 2011. To learn about us, click the button below.

The following is a press release from Belmont Basketball

Belmont University men’s basketball senior J.J. Mann (Smyrna, Ga.) has been named semifinalist for the 2014 Wooden Citizenship Cup.

This is the latest in a string of prestigious civic and academic honors for Mann.

In 2013, the Smyrna, Ga. native was one of only five NCAA Division I men’s basketball players selected to the inaugural Allstate NABC Good Works Team, recognizing men’s and women’s college basketball student-athletes who have made outstanding contributions in the areas of volunteerism and civic involvement. Mann was honored at the 2013 Men’s Final Four.

He also was named to the 2013 Division I-AAA Athletic Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete Team and ‘Peach of an Athlete’ by the Atlanta Area Council of the Boy Scouts of America.

This year, Mann is a candidate for the NCAA Senior CLASS Award for men’s basketball.

The 6-6 guard/forward is extremely active in the Nashville community, giving of his time to numerous outreach projects. Among them, Mann serves as a regular volunteer for the Best Buddies Program, a tutor and activities leader at area schools, a server at the Nashville Rescue Mission, and member of Belmont’s Sports Evangelism mission trips to Malta, Italy and Haiti.

On campus, Mann holds a number of leadership positions, including men’s basketball representative on the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), executive vice president of Belmont Ambassadors, team leader of Belmont’s division of Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA), and member of Enactus – a non-profit organization committed to using the power of entrepreneurial action to improve the quality of life and standard of living for people in need.

Open to athletes in all sports, the John Wooden Citizenship Cup is presented to two distinguished athletes – one collegiate and one professional – who have made the greatest difference in the lives of others. The recipients are athletes of excellence both on and off the field, role models both as performers and persons.

Past recipients include Jack Nicklaus, Mia Hamm, Peyton Manning and Tim Tebow.

The Wooden Citizenship Cup is overseen by Athletes for a Better World.

The mission of Athletes for a Better World (ABW) is to use sports to develop character, teamwork, and citizenship through commitment to an athletic Code for Living that applies to life, and to create a movement that will play a significant role in the transformation of individuals, sports, and society.


The programs of ABW are designed to encourage acceptance and use of the Code for Living and reaffirm the decisions of athletes to:

  • ·         Work hard at their sport
  • ·         Demonstrate fair play
  • ·         Come together as one team
  • ·         Win or lose with grace and dignity
  • ·         Give something back to the community


Through participation in the programs of ABW, athletes, coaches, and parents will become better people in all aspects of life and will demonstrate the value of Winning More than the Game.

Wooden Citizenship Cup Semifinalists

Christian Bilkovic, Wayne State University, Baseball

Shayla Bivins, Georgia Tech, Basketball

Tera Bradham, University of Arkansas, Swimming

Whitney Canion, Baylor University, Softball

Caroline Casey, University of Rhode Island, Volleyball

Hallie Christofferson, Iowa State University, Basketball

Chris Conley, University of Georgia, Football

Kastine Evans, University of Kentucky, Basketball

Danny Fisher, Bloomsbury University, Football

Alec Golini, Lafayette College, Soccer

Jakob Gollon, Mercer University, Basketball

Dave Harding, Duke University, Football

Gabe Ikard, University of Oklahoma, Football

Darius Johnson, Middle Tennessee State, Football

Collen Klein, Kansas State, Football

Shaun Lewis, Oklahoma State University, Football

J.J. Mann, Belmont University, Basketball


Jake Matthews, Texas A&M, Football

Courtney Moses, Purdue University, Basketball

Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford University, Basketball

Marlee Paton, Loyola University, Lacrosse

Kathryn Rand, Wingate University, Golf

Josh Richardson, University of Tennessee, Basketball

Rachel Ross, Wittenberg University, Softball

D.T. Shackleford, University of Mississippi, Football

Chelsea Suitos, Univ. of Arizona, Softball

Isabella Vidana, Lesley University, Soccer

Kelly Wallace, Northeastern University, Hockey

Asa Watson,  North Carolina State, Football

Avery Williamson, University of Kentucky, Football

Winston Wright, South Dakota University, Football


Aaron Craft of The Ohio State University, Kelly Dennis of Chesnut Hill College, Dau Jok of the University of Pennsylvania, Jeffrey Rappucci of College of the Holy Cross, and Elizabeth Tucker of Notre Dame University were named finalists.

Apologies, for this post the comments are closed.
OVC Ball
Final Word (11/13): Jacksonville State stands alone…in basketball too.

2017-18 Basketball Standings

OVC Overall
Jacksonville State 0-0 2-0
Tennessee Tech 0-0 1-1
Murray State 0-0 1-1
Southeast Missouri* 0-0 1-1
Belmont 0-0 1-1
Eastern Kentucky 0-0 1-1
Tennessee State 0-0 1-1
Eastern Illinois 0-0 0-1
SIUE 0-0 0-1
Austin Peay 0-0 0-2
Morehead State 0-0 0-2
UT Martin 0-0 0-2

*Ineligible for postseason (APR)