Independently covering the OVC since 2011. To learn about us, click the button below.

Murray State won this year’s Tournament championship, and by most accounts have quite a bright future ahead of them. But does success in the postseason the season before carry over to the year after? Not necessarily, when we look back at past CIT champions and runner ups.

Previous CIT Champions Win % Next Season

Of the five previous champions, only one made the NCAA Tournament the next season: Old Dominion. Missouri State, which finished the 2010-11 regular season 25-8, beat Murray State in the first round of the NIT the season after winning the CIT, before bowing out in the second.

Santa Clara is really the major exception to having any success. The Broncos finished the 2010-11 season 24-12 with a CIT title. The next season: 8-22, going winless in the tough West Coast Conference. Are you thinking they graduated most of their guys? Not really.  Two of their top three scorers returned the next year, although they did lose their top two rebounders.

The last two seasons saw Mercer go 24-12, and East Carolina finish 17-17.

The data is a bit similar for CIT runner-ups.

Previous CIT Runner Ups Win % Next Season

Again, just one runner-up made the NCAA tournament the next season – Weber State, who was a 16-seed this season after going 18-12 in the regular season. Every runner-up has gone at least .500 in the following, with Bradley and Pacific doing so by just one game. (Both went 16-15 the following season)

Apologies, for this post the comments are closed.
OVC Ball
Compiling all OVC non-conference games

2016 Football Standings

OVC Overall
Jacksonville State 7-0 10-2
UT Martin 6-2 7-5
Tennessee Tech 5-3 5-6
Tennessee State 4-3 7-4
Eastern Illinois 4-4 6-5
Murray State 4-4 4-7
SEMO 3-5 3-8
Eastern Kentucky 2-6 3-8
Austin Peay 0-8 0-11

2016-17 Basketball Standings

OVC Overall


Belmont 15-1 23-7
Morehead State 10-6 14-16
Jacksonville State 9-7 20-15
Tennessee State 8-8 17-13
Tennessee Tech 8-8 12-20
Eastern Kentucky 5-11 12-19


UT Martin 10-6 22-13
SEMO 9-7 15-18
Murray State 8-8 16-17
Austin Peay 7-9 11-19
Eastern Illinois 6-10 14-15
SIUE 1-15 6-24